ABBATH Stream Full Album “Dread Reaver” In Advance Of The Release Date

Stream Full Album In Advance Of The Release Date

It is time! Norwegian metal titans ABBATH are now streaming their brand-new album ‘Dread Reaver’ in advance of the release date! The new offering is going to be released worldwide on Friday the 25th of March 2022, but can already be listened to via the official Season of Mist YouTube Channel tonight at 8 PM CET and you can find the link HERE.

‘Dread Reaver’ is available in the Season of Mist shop HERE. Pre-save the album HERE. The link can be freely spread throughout your channels.

ABBATH – Dread Reaver (Official Streaming Video)
ABBATH previously announced a European Tour with WATAIN, TRIBULATION and BØLZER in September and October 2022. A full list of confirmed dates can be found below.
Tourposter Abbath
01 Jun 22 Moscow (RU) Izvestiya Hall
02 Jun 22 St. Petersburg (RU) Aurora
09 Aug 22 Josefov (CZ) Brutal Assault (Exact date TBA )
13 Aug 22 Kortrijk (BE) Alcatraz Festival 2022 (Exact date TBA)

15 Sep 22 Paris (FR) Elysee Montmartre
16 Sep 22 Oberhausen (DE) Turbinenhalle
17 Sep 22 Munich (DE) Backstage
18 Sep 22 Milan (IT) Live Club
20 Sep 22 Toulouse (FR) Le Bikini
22 Sep 22 Lisbon (PT) Lisboa Ao Vivo
23 Sep 22 Madrid (ES) La Riviera
24 Sep 22 Barcelona (ES) Apolo
25 Sep 22 Lyon (FR) Transbordeur
27 Sep 22 Zurich (CH) Komplex 457
28 Sep 22 Filderstadt (DE) Filharmonie
29 Sep 22 Tilburg (NL) 013
30 Sep 22 London (UK) Earth
02 Oct 22 Antwerp (BE) Trix
04 Oct 22 Hamburg (DE) Markthalle
05 Oct 22 Copenhagen (DK) Amager Bio
06 Oct 22 Oslo (NO) Rockefeller
07 Oct 22 Stockholm (SE) Fallan
09 Oct 22 Helsinki (FI) Vanha

The cover for ‘Dread Reaver’,which was created by Bjørn Stian Bjoarvik, can be found below together with the track list. The photos were made by Francisco Munoz.
1. Acid Haze (04:51)
2. Scarred Core (03:29)
3. Dream Cull (04:15) WATCH HERE
4. Myrmidon (04:33)
5. The Deep Unbound (04:05)
6. Septentrion (04:30)
7. Trapped Under Ice (03:59)
8. The Book of Breath (04:35) WATCH HERE
9. Dread Reaver (04:43) WATCH HERE
10. Make my day (04:16)
Photo by Francisco Munoz

The ravens gaze ominously from above. The seas roar in anticipation. The mountains creak yet again. ABBATH’s remarkable new album, Dread Reaver, is upon us all. Two years in the making, ABBATH’s third full-length is the culmination of everything before it. A fusion of debut Abbath (2016) and follow-up Outstrider (2019), the aptly titled Dread Reaver extends its fantastical fangs outward and drives its cloven hooves onward. Indeed, there’s nothing like an ABBATH record. This is the darkest metal for epic journeys and ancient battles. Comprised of eight riveting tracks and a red-hot cover of METALLICA’s “Trapped Under Ice,” Dread Reaver shows ABBATH triumphing over all trials and tribulations, riding hard into merciless glory as the one and only “Lemmy of black metal.”

ABBATH was formed by Olve Eikemo (aka Abbath) in Bergen, Norway, in 2015. After splitting with vaunted extreme metallers IMMORTAL, the beguiling frontman and storied songwriter only had one path: ABBATH. Years before, he had proven that venturing out of the IMMORTAL constellation was not only plausible but doable with the I project, a short-lived, one-album (Between Two Worlds) band featuring notable musicians from IMMORTAL, ENSLAVED, and GORGOROTH. Indeed, once Eikemo was free of IMMORTAL’s ’s shackles, he was able to assemble a cadre of like-minded conspirators for his solo debut album, Abbath. So crucial was Abbath that the Norwegian Embassy in the UK ran a music/culture piece, while in Norway, the album was nominated for a Spellemannprisen (Norwegian Grammy). Metal Hammer Germany even gonged Abbath with its Best Debut award. Follow-up album, Outstrider, was equally lauded. Billboard’s coverage sent shockwaves through the rock/metal scenes, while Kerrang! labelled it “dominating and creative,” awarding it 4Ks. Decibel also heaped praise on Outstrider, giving it the Best New Noise trophy. The new album Dread Reaver will yet again lionize ABBATH as leader of the frost-bitten pack.

Powered by Abbath’s creative musical imagination, Dread Reaver runs riotously out of the gate. The album’s edifice affords tracks like “Acid Haze,” “Scarred Core,” “The Deep Unbound,” and the album’s closing title track ample room to champion the extremes of black metal, heavy metal, and hard rock. While there are nods to NWOBHM greats, thrash metal’s luminaries, and black metal icons, Dread Reaver is unmistakably ABBATH. There is no other fingerprint. Paired with thought-provoking lyrics based on the historical figure of Othryades, ABBATH’s third album not only shouts exultant but reads like an ancient pyrrhic tale steeped in violence, sorrow, and grit. The idea of a Dread Reaver—a fearless duelist—can also be read as a metaphor for life’s actions and subsequent struggles. Be warned: Dread Reaver is ABBATH at his most menacing and accomplished.

Dread Reaver was produced by Endre Kirkesola, ABBATH, and Dag Erik Nygaard at Dub Studio in Kristiansand and Bergen Lydstudio, respectively. Kirkesola and Nygaard also engineered. Mixing was performed by ABBATH and Kirkesola, while the mastering was done by maestro Maor Appelbaum (FAITH NO MORE, ROB HALFORD) at Maor Appelbaum Mastering in Los Angeles. The goal was to field a storming production that sat firmly at the crossroads of Abbath’s heroes KISS, MOTÖRHEAD, MANOWAR and BATHORY. From the anthemic thrust of opener “Acid Haze” and the epic pound of “Dream Cull” to the rampaging “The Book of Breath” and the wicked cover of METALLICA’s “Trapped Under Ice,” Dread Reaver sounds as massive as Norwegian mountain and as fiery as the depths of Hell. Truly, the recording line-up of Abbath (guitar, bass, vocals), Ukri Suvilehto (drums), Ole André Farstad (guitars), and Mia Wallace (bass) found their sonic muse.

If “Ace of Spades” catapulted MOTÖRHEAD to fame and notoriety, then Dread Reaver will find ABBATH atop the metal’s gigantic heap, the spoils of icy blood, scorching sweat, and steely tears at his feet. As “Myrmidon” states, “Die with a smile, stare glassy-eyed up / At boiling skies! / Valkyries descend to gore-caked fen / Fallen warriors arise!” Lightning strikes thrice with ABBATH’s incredible Dread Reaver!

Recording line-up:
Abbath – Guitar, bass & vocals
Ukri Suvilehto – Drums
Ole André Farstad – Lead & acoustic guitars
Mia Wallace – Bass on Acid Haze, Scarred Core, The Deep Unbound & Dread Reaver

Recording studio: Recorded in Dub Studio / Additional recordings: Bergen Lydstudio

Producer / sound engineer: Endre Kirkesola / Dag Erik Nygaard
Mixing studio and engineer: Abbath and Endre Kirkesola

Mastering studio / engineer: Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering – California – U.S.A

Lyrics: Simon Dancaster

Biography: Chris Dick 
Cover art: Bjørn Stian Bjoarvik / Photos by Francisco Munoz



Available formats: Digital, CD digipak, CD digibox, vinyl black and coloured

%d bloggers like this: