Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review
Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review9
Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review9
Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review9
Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review9
Nightwish - 'Decades' - Album Review9
9Overall Score
Reader Rating: (1 Vote)

Bloodstock main stage Sunday headliners Nightwish bring us a compilation album 20 years in the making and what a phenomenal collection it is.

Documenting tracks from all previous album releases, retaining their original format to ensure the authenticity of evolution, the 22 track album swiftly passes the 2 hours and 22 minutes it takes to listen to it in all it’s glory.

Any compilation needs a great opening and Nightwish chose the epic 24 minute long ‘The Greatest Show On Earth’ which displays the theatrics, beautiful music and vocals that take you on an exciting journey. Accompanied by flamboyant orchestral company and heavy guitars going backward and forward provides the fantasy storytelling that Nightwish are second to none at.

This is just the beginning and as we progress through Decades we experience the different arrangements that they produced, including ‘The Poet and the Pendulum’ with its twisting and turning audio story book, engaging and enchanting us.

‘I Wish I Had An Angel’ is a high tempo complete difference of pace however it is still very much a Nightwish track.

This collection of songs is not a ‘best of’ but rather a specially selected combination that displays the ever dramatic, evolving sound of Symphonic Power Metal at its finest.

If you are looking for an introduction to Nightwish there could be no better way to wonder why you have never tried them before. If you are an avid fan, enjoy this collection with smiles and memories.

I am really looking forward to seeing these at Bloodstock now and aving been slightly sceptical for their headlining I am now question why I ever doubted it.


Ed Ford



  1. The Greatest Show On Earth 23:59
  2. Élan 4:47
  3. My Walden 4:41
  4. Storytime 5:30
  5. I Want My Tears Back 5:11
  6. Amaranth 3:57
  7. The Poet And The Pendulum 13:54
  8. Nemo 4:36
  9. Wish I Had An Angel 4:02
  10. Ghost Love Score 10:02
  11. Slaying The Dreamer 4:34
  12. End Of All Hope 4:23
  13. 10th Man Down 5:29
  14. The Kingslayer 4:09
  15. Dead Boy’s Poem 6:52
  16. Gethsemane 5:22
  17. Devil & The Deep Dark Ocean 4:46
  18. Sacrament Of Wilderness 4:14
  19. Sleeping Sun 4:33
  20. Elvenpath 4:42
  21. Carpenter 6:00
  22. Nightwish (Demo) 5:48




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: