What can you say about KISS that hasn’t already been said before? Dovetailing their hugely successful sold out European tour, the guys are following up with the release of KISSWORLD – The Best Of KISS, 20 of the band’s most iconic and best loved songs on one album.

It is a rare thing that when you listen to a ‘Best Of’ album you immediately know all the songs involved. Words like ‘iconic’ get bounced around from time to time with certain bands, but iconic possibly does not do enough justice where KISS are concerned. Bands who have released over 44 albums and sold over 100 million records worldwide are stratospheric, never mind iconic.

As you run through the songs, there is a beautiful familiarity, as most of us will have been raised on these illustrious Rock tracks. For many they will represent a time or place in our lives, memories of lost loves and times with friends. It won’t matter if you are in the US or the UK, what KISS gave you as young kid growing up with their highly extravagant persona and kick ass music was a sense of freedom never seen before. You couldn’t throw a stick and hit a Rock band today that wasn’t either directly or indirectly influenced by this band. The heaviest of bands from Metallica through to Anthrax and Rock bands like Nickelback and even U2 will all cite KISS as the soundtrack to their youth.

Formed in New York City in January 1973 by Paul StanleyGene SimmonsPeter Criss, and Ace Frehley, the original members laid down a foundation for Rock to follow, and follow it did. It is incomprehensible to imagine just how many of today’s finest Rock, Metal and even Pop acts spawned from bedroom air guitar session to tracks like ‘Detroit Rock City’ and ‘I Was Made for Lovin’ You.’

The beauty of an album like this is that it will never age, regardless of the date of the original recordings. These songs encapsulate such magic that they are constantly enveloped into our daily lives via TV adverts and radio adverts that are subconsciously absorbed by ourselves, our kids, and a whole new generation of KISS fans is born yet again. KISSWORLD – The Best Of KISS should be a staple in anyone’s musical diet. If you are new to KISS or an old friend this album represents a musical education like no other. Roll up! Roll up, take a seat and enjoy the ride, and please make as much noise as you possibly can. ‘Shout It Out Loud.’


KISSWORLD – The Best Of KISS is out now via Universal Music.


Track List


1 ‘Crazy Crazy Nights’
2 ‘Rock And Roll All Nite’
3 ‘I Was Made for Lovin’ You’
4 ‘God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll To You II’
5 ‘Detroit Rock City’
6 ‘Beth’
7 ‘Lick It Up’
8 ‘Heaven’s On Fire’
9 ‘Tears Are Falling’
10 ‘Unholy’
11 ‘Hard Luck Woman’
12 ‘Psycho Circus’
13 ‘Shout It Out Loud’
14 ‘Calling Dr. Love’
15 ‘Christine Sixteen’
16 ‘Love Gun’
17 ‘Shandi’
18 ‘I’m A Legend Tonight’
19 ‘Modern Day Delilah’
20 ‘Hell Or Hallelujah’






KISSWORLD – The Best Of KISS Album Review
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: