Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review
Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review 10
Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review 10
Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review 10
Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review 10
Joe Bonamassa - 'British Blues Explosion Live' - Album Review 10
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

The summer of 2016 saw Joe Bonamassa hit the road for a select number of dates across the UK and Ireland for a very special and unique tour, The British Blues Explosion. This time we saw Joe and his faithful band of brothers concentrate their efforts on the music of Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton. It was to be a very special event indeed, not shy of such tributes as Bonamassa has already paid tribute to The Three Kings where Bonamassa covered all the greatest hits of BB, Freddie and Albert. This time the British Blues Explosion is a collection of songs that spoke to Joe on a personal level.

So no ‘Stairway to Heaven’ or ‘Wonderful Tonight’. Instead you get the hidden beauties that the deeply engrossed fans of British Blues would know and love, Clapton’s ‘Mainline Florida’ or Jeff Beck’s ‘Let Me Love You’, where you’ll see Bonamassa lay down a solo to make the best guitarists out there weep. A stunning collection of Blues greats played by a sublime collection of musicians the only way they know how, in the raw and in your face. Bonamassa has surrounded himself with an exceptional group of musicians in the form of Reese Wynans on keys (ex Double Trouble), Anton Fig on drums, the multitalented Russ Irwin on guitar, keys and backing vocals and of course the ever steady Michael Rhodes on bass.

All of the above make for one of the slickest and tightest performances you’ll see live, an outrageous audible extravaganza that is just becoming the norm from Bonamassa’s live shows. I was fortunate to catch this show live in Dublin and it was a religious experience, less a live concert but more a congregation where Bonamassa and Co gave a eulogy to the gathered masses. All who attended knew they had witnessed greatness that evening. Spiritual experience aside, British Blues Explosion Liveis an audible treat and absolute must for any Bonamassa fan. The musicianship is flawless throughout and drives home why many think Joe is the man who sets the bar in the Blues world currently.


British Blues Explosion Live is available on May 18th via Mascot Label Group / Provogue on 2CD, 2DVD, Blu-Ray and 3LP.


Track List



  1. ‘Beck’s Bolero / Rice Pudding’
  2. ‘Mainline Florida’
  3. ‘Boogie With Stu’
  4. ‘Let Me Love You Baby’
  5. ‘Plynth (Water Down the Drain)’
  6. ‘Spanish Boots’
  7. ‘Double Crossing Time’
  8. ‘Motherless Children’



  1. ‘SWLABR’
  2. ‘Tea for One / I Can’t Quit You Baby’
  3. ‘Little Girl’
  4. ‘Pretending’
  5. ‘Black Winter / Django’
  6. ‘How Many More Times’



24 HOUR TICKET HOTLINE: 0844 844 0444




Plymouth Pavilions                                      Thursday 11 October

Nottingham Motorpoint Arena                 Friday 12 October

Bournemouth International Centre        Saturday 13 October



London, Hampton Court Palace                 Tuesday 12 June



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: