Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review
Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review 6
Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review 6
Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review 6
Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review 6
Fvzz Popvli - Magna Fvzz - Album Review 6
6Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

Magna Fvzz is the second album from Italian power-trio Fvzz Popvli. At only seven songs long the album is a short statement of intent. While the execution of the songs varies throughout, the one consistent is (as one would expect from the band name) a healthy coating of fuzz effect on most of the guitars and some of the bass parts.

The songs themselves are characterised by some unusual arrangements and pitch choices, and the fuzz and phase used heavily and in combination help create a much more atmospheric sound from otherwise relatively simple riffs. However, the overall effect is a warm sound with a confident sense of groove.

Stylistically, Magna Fvzz draws from a lot of different pre-established pools. The aggression and ballsy, heavy riffs are reminiscent of gutter punk – especially the way the vocals are delivered over the top. The album does show some development as it progresses; track 4 Get Meand track 5 Rvmpeltvm show a more open, musically explorative band. This diversity of influence makes for a much more intriguing trip through an album that then pleads to be repeated.

The only thing holding the album, and indeed the band back is the vocals. While in a band like this where the frontman is also the lead and sole guitarist it is easy to understate the importance of the vocals, this is still where the casual listener will initially be drawn in or put off. The main focal point, of course, of a band called Fvzz Popvli is the guitars and effects, obviously, so the vocals tend to be mixed rather quietly. This means the lyrics are difficult to understand despite being sung in English, and when they do cut through the mix, the style chosen by Fvzz’s frontman is reminiscent more of a cartoon villain than a hardened punk maverick.



Peter Bowden



Magna Fvzz  is released October 5thvia Heavy Psych Sounds Records

Track Listing


  1. Let It Die…
  2. Napoleon
  3. The Deal
  4. Get Me
  5. Rvmpeltum
  6. Cherry Bowl
  7. Magna Fvzz (feat. Bazu from Glöbia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: