Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa - 'Black Coffee' - Album Review
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa are at it again. The hard hitting Blues duo reunite in the form of Black Coffee, a collection of ten soulful classics reborn by Hart and Bonamassa the only way they know how. Black Coffee features songs made famous by Edgar Winter, Ray Charles, Etta James, Steve Marriot, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Lucinda Williams, LaVern Baker and more.

What you get is Hart’s powerhouse vocals meshed with Bonamassa’s sublime playing to create a gorgeous recoding that is easy on the ear. Hart’s vocals carry a swagger throughout whilst Bonamassa adds flavour and texture to the songs that only he can do with a touch and technique that few possess. It’s a glorious recording form start to finish and an obvious addition to any Hart or Bonamassa fan’s collection, and for anyone late to the party, it offers the perfect opportunity to understand why this pairing is so highly respected and rated.

Unbelievably, recorded in five days at Studio at the Palms, Las Vegas, in August 2016, they have once again recalled some familiar names in Anton Fig (drums/percussion), Ron Dziubla (saxophone), Lee Thornburg (horn arrangements/trumpet/trombone) and welcomed in Reese Wynans (keyboards), Michael Rhodes (bass), Rob McNelley (rhythm guitar), Paulie Cerra (saxophone), Mahalia Barnes (backing vocals), Jade Macrae (backing vocals) and Juanita Tippins (backing vocals).
Black Coffee is out January 26th via Provogue.


Track List

  1. ‘Give It Everything You’ve Got’
  2. ‘Damn Your Eyes’
  3. ‘Black Coffee’
  4. ‘Lullaby of the Leaves’
  5. ‘Why Don’t You Do Right’
  6. ‘Saved’
  7. ‘Sittin’ on Top of the World’
  8. ‘Joy’
  9. ‘Soul on Fire’
  • ‘Addicted’


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: