Initially formed two decades ago in Turin, Italy, Dying Awkward Angel are a total  testament to the strength and convictions of true metallers. Enduring line-up changes and travails that would have crushed a lesser band, Dying Awkward Angel refused to die…instead they have thrived!
In 2013, Dying Awkward Angel finally unleashed their debut full length album ‘Waiting For Punishment’, following it in 2016 with a well-received EP entitled ‘Madness Rising’.
Dying Awkward Angel’s current line-up is founding member Edoardo Demuro on guitar, Luca Pellegrino on drums, Lorenzo Asselli on guitars, David Onidaon bass, and Michael Spallieri on vocals.
Inspired by In Flames, At The Gates, Carcass, Dark Tranquillity, Slayer, Death, Pantera, and Metallica, Edoardo describes Dying Awkward Angel’s sound as “melodic, angry, insane, furious, ambiguous”.
Edoardo explains the meaning of his band’s intriguing name.
“It can have more than one meaning. From my personal point of view it’s a part of each man. It represents an ancestral state where the man was closer to a divine entity. Today that part is not dead but it is forgotten. So: Dying Awkward Angel.”
Edoardo sees Dying Awkward Angel’s new music as a great progression.
“We started with the only goal of destroying everything…Over the years we have been working to achieve a more solid and understandable sound. We have created the very personal Dying Awkward Angel sound…’Absence of Light’ is a new era for us; the first official release, a mature sound, an increased richness of themes, a real fucking powerful new voice on our music. You can see it as the might of God, when it doesn’t give you what you expected. This new chapter of Dying Awkward Angel is heavy, fast, powerful, dark and bright at the same time. We hope to give the fans the same emotions we have when we play! We hope they have a lot of fun!”
“Absence of Light” is due out May 25, 2018 via Extreme Metal Music a subsidiary of Rockshots Records and is available for pre-order here. | | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Bandcamp Spotify

Album Pre-Order – 

Edoardo Demuro (Guitars)
Luca Pellegrino (Drums)
Lorenzo Asselli (Guitars)
Davide Onida (Bass)
Michele Spallieri (Vocals)


Album Title: Absence of Light
Label: Extreme Metal Metal Music / Rockshots Records
Release Date: May 25, 2018
Dying Awkward Angel

Dying Awkward Angel

Track Listing:
1. Blood of Your Blood (5:39)
2. Death Coach (2:58)
3. Isaiah 53:7 (4:33)
4. Shade (2:54)
5. Dolls (4:50)
6. Sancta Sanctorum (4:19)
7. Absence of Light (1:59)
8. Maldita Seas (4:03)
9. The Dust Devil (3:52)
10. T.U.S.K. (3:42)
11. The Killing Floor (5:47)
Album Length: 44:42

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: