The Riverdogs – California – Album Review

Emulating their stunning blues rock sound from their 1990 self-titled debut album, the Riverdogs are back with a bang to produce their fifth record ‘California’. Comprised of the original line-up with Rob Lamothe on vocals and guitars, Nick Brophy bringing the bass, keys and vocals, Vivian Campbell owning the lead guitar and Marc Danzeisen rocking out on the drums.

Formed in Los Angeles towards the end of the 1980’s during the glamorous hard rock era, the Riverdogs crafted their own original sound which helped them stand out from the masses and become the fantastic band they are today. Vivian Campbell (Sweet Savage, Dio, Whitesnake, Def Leppard, Last in Line) originally joined to produce their first demo, but ended up loving the band so much that he became a full member and played on their debut album. The full line-up was completed soon after the release with the addition of drummer Marc Danzeisen.


The opening track ‘American Dream’ is high-energy rock and roll featuring a classy guitar solo and fantastic rhythm and lyrics great for crowd participation in live shows. The sixth track ‘The Heart Is A Mindless Bird’ features stunning blues guitar tones and each word is sung with such passion, a truly memorable performance from Rob Lathome. An explosive change in dynamic takes place two thirds into the track with the riffs of Vivian Campbell taking centre stage.


‘Welcome To The New Disaster’ is beautifully crafted with the intertwining of the lead and rhythm guitars, a steady heartbeat formed with the drums and the outstanding vocals flowing throughout. This is certainly a standout track for the album. The record ends with ‘I Don’t Know Anything’, a track crowds will find themselves singing their hearts out to.


Packed full of passion and stunning guitar solos, ‘California’ will be released on 7th July via Frontiers Music s.r.l. And it is set to be a hit for listeners both old and new of the Riverdogs!

Track Listing

  1. American Dream
  2. The Revolution Starts Tonight
  3. Something Inside
  4. Golden Glow 
  5. You’re Too Rock n Roll 
  6. The Heart Is A Mindless Bird
  7. Searching For A Signal
  8. Welcome To The New Disaster
  9. Ten Thousand Reasons
  10. Catalina
  11. I Don’t Know Anything


Nick Brophy: Bass, keys, vocals
Vivian Campbell: Guitars, vocals
Marc Danzeisen: Drums, vocals
Rob Lamothe: Vocals, guitar



The Riverdogs - California - Album Review
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (2 Votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: