The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review
The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review 10
The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review 10
The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review 10
The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review 10
The Magpie Salute - High Water I - Album Review 10
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

The Magpie Salute are set to release their first full studio LP on the 10th August 2018. “High Water I” has been long awaited and much anticipated. Formed by guitarist Rich Robinson, it continues a storyline he began in the Black Crowes with guitarist Marc Ford and bassist Sven Pipien and was later joined by vocalist John Hogg, keyboardist Matt Slocum and drummer Joe Magistro.

This 12 track LP is a masterclass in musicality and songwriting. There is a maturity in song-craft that can have only come about by the fact that these musicians have played alongside each other, all be it in different guises, for so long that the musical bond is second to none.

“It’s the recontextualization of playing with one another,” Robinson states. “When I was putting this thing together, I was thinking about how even though we may not have played for almost a decade, it just comes back immediately. The chemistry is unexplainable. Of course, I’m the same guy who played with the Black Crowes and wrote all of those songs, but this is a different context for myself, Marc, and Sven. It’s the convergence of three different worlds and eras for me. We’re all here together in this one place. Simultaneously, it’s amazing for Marc and Sven to play with Joe and Matt and John to be in the middle of it all. For me, that was really cool to witness. This is what I wanted to do.”

Wether it be the driving riff and thick guitar sound on “Mary The Gypsy”, the opening track, or the Zepplin-esque stomper “For the Wind”, through to the beautiful ballads “Sister Moon” and “You Found Me”, the listener is taken on a sonic journey that is indeed most pleasing. Each play through of the LP you feel yourself going deeper and deeper into Robinson’s musical heritage and that can only be a good thing.

You will not be disappointed here if you are a longstanding Black Crowe’s or just wanting to listen to some damn fine songs accompanied by outstanding musicianship.


Mark Ellis


The Magpie Salute
Album: High Water I
Released: 10th August 2018
Via Provogue/Mascot Label Group

Rich Robinson | John Hogg | Marc Ford | Sven Pipien | Matt Slocum | Joe Magistro


Track Listing
1. Mary The Gypsy
2. High Water
3. Send Me An Omen
4. For The Wind
5. Sister Moon
6. Color Blind
7. Take It All
8. Walk On Water
9. Hand In Hand
10. You Found Me
11. Can You See
12. Open Up


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: