The Ferrymen are a newly formed supergroup comprised of Ronnie Romero (Lords of Black, Rainbow) on vocals, Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear, Magnus Karlsson’s Free Fall) on guitar, bass and keyboard, and Mike Terrana (Rage, Axel Rudi Pell) on drums.

This is pure melodic Metal, and right up the street of any fan of the genre. There is no doubting the sheer talent of these three guys, with a stunning execution of each instrument performed. Magnus Karlsson wrote the tracks in the summer of 2016 in Sweden, and when Ronnie Romero received the music via Frontiers, he instantly wanted to be a part of it. Mike Terrana completed the band, recording all his drum sections in the beautiful setting of Italy.

Ronnie Romero was carefully chosen by the world-class guitarist from Deep Purple and Rainbow, Ritchie Blackmore, to take on the lead vocals in the reunion shows for Rainbow. This makes the Ronnie James Dio style vocals delivered by Romero even more fitting for the band.

The album kicks off with ‘End of the Road,’ a fast-paced, classic melodic Metal track with strong, punchy riffs and vocals. The second track on the album, ‘Ferryman,’ has an anthemic, stadium rock feel that crowds all over the globe will go wild for. The softer paced ‘One Heart’ makes a nice change in dynamic to the album so far, and gives a fresh feel to the sound. The seventh track, ‘The Darkest Hour,’ opens with a clock-like ticking, and breaks out into a fantastic drum section ready for Romero’s vocals to take over. A beautiful keyboard introduction opens ‘Eternal Night,’ making for one of the standout tracks on the album, as it has a wonderful melodic and nostalgic feel, which will undoubtedly remind you of listening to old Classic Rock albums from the good old days gone by.

The beautiful artwork for the album, which has a magical feel, perfectly suits the melodic style of Metal created on the record, which was produced by Stan W. Decker. Simone Mularoni, from the high energy, Italian Prog Metal band DGM, produced the mix for the album.

The album, The Ferrymen, from Frontiers Music s.r.l, will be released on 2nd June, and it’s set to cause tremors in the Metal world!

Reviewed By Cerys


Track Listing

01. End Of The Road
02. Ferryman
03. Fool You All
04. Still Standing Up
05. Cry Wolf
06. One Heart
07. Darkest Hour
08. How The Story Ends
09. Enter Your Dream
10. Eyes On The Sky
11. Eternal Night
12. Welcome To My Show

The Ferrymen - Album Review
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (1 Vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: